Board of Harbor Commissioners



Sabrina Brennan, President Edmundo Larenas, Vice President Nancy Reyering, Secretary Tom Mattusch, Treasurer Virginia Chang Kiraly, Commissioner

John Moren, Interim General Manager William Parkin, District Counsel

April 17, 2019

The Honorable Lorena Gonzalez California State Assembly Committee on Appropriations California State Capitol 10th and L Streets, Room 2114 Sacramento, CA 95814

Re: AB 467 – Oppose Unless Amended - Equal Play for Equal Pay

Dear Assemblymember Gonzalez:

Please close the loopholes in AB 467 and amend the bill to require the inclusion of gendered categories in addition to equal prize compensation, awards, honors or logistical support at athletic events held on state lands. We urge you to end gender-based discrimination by modifying AB 467 to comply with the Unruh Civil Rights Act, California Civil Code Section 51.

The San Mateo County Harbor District (District) operates Pillar Point Harbor located near Half Moon Bay and Oyster Point Marina located in South San Francisco. The District issued a Special Use Permit for the iconic Mavericks Challenge big-wave surf competition. That permit expires on March 31, 2021.

The Harbor District Board of Commissioners unanimously supports the inclusion of gendered categories (a women's division and men's division) at all surfing competitions and we support equal pay and prize parity in all professional athletic competitions.

We encourage the Committee to address concerns about the workability of AB 467 in order to move the important principles embodied in the bill. The District supports requiring gendered categories (male categories and female categories) at professional athletic competitions held on state lands in California.

Thank your for your consideration.

Very truly yours,

John Moren

Interim General Manager

San Mateo County Harbor District

Copy:

Shubhangi Domokos, Legislative Director, District 80

Shubhangi.Domokos@asm.ca.gov

Robert Charles, Chief of Staff, District 76

Rob.Charles@asm.ca.gov

Ben Cohn, District Representative, District 22

Ben.Cohn@asm.ca.gov

Even McLaughlin, Chief of Staff, District 80

Evan.McLaughlin@asm.ca.gov

Zack Ross, District Director, District 24

zachery.ross@asm.ca.gov

Ellen Hou Green, Legislative Director, District 24

ellen.green@asm.ca.gov

Jack Ainsworth, Executive Director, Coastal Commission

John.Ainsworth@coastal.ca.gov

Sean Drake, Coastal Program Analyst, Coastal Commission

sean.drake@coastal.ca.gov

Jennifer Lucchesi, Executive Officer, State Lands Commission

Jennifer.Lucchesi@slc.ca.gov

Sheri Pemberton, Legislative Liaison, State Lands Commission

Sheri.Pemberton@slc.ca.gov

Anne Baker, Deputy Controller, State Controller

ABaker@sco.ca.gov

Aleksandra Reetz, Special Assistant, Lieutenant Governor

Aleksandra.Reetz@ltg.ca.gov

Matt Dumlao, Policy Director, Lieutenant Governor

Matthew.Dumlao@ltg.ca.gov